Gathering Dark Candice Fox

   

Gathering Dark by Candice Fox

Paperback published by arrow books 3rd September 2020

A girl goes missing on the streets of L.A

Four unlikely women are her only hope.

Blair Harbour’s life as Hollywood’s top paediatric surgeon was perfect, until the night she was jailed for a murde she says she didn’t commit. 

With a ten-year prison sentence complete, her medical license cancelled and her son being raised by foster parents, she’s finally free and ready to start again from scratch.

But when a former cellmate begs for help to find her missing daughter, Blair must risk it all to save a life. Her only allies are a thief, a ganglord  and the cop who put her away.

To do the right thing, Blair must mix with all the wrong people.

Will it put her new-found freedom on the line?


My Review  

This is the very first time I have read a book by this author. I found Gathering Dark by Candice Fox a page turning experience, where the pace never stops. Loved every page. Now I have finished Gathering Dark I’m looking forward to reading her next book. 

Before Blair Harbour had been arrested she had treated the kids of the stars for nine years, and drove a Mercedes-Benz. 

While Blair is in prison she gave birth to her son with her wrists shackled to the bed in the infirmary at Happy Valley. She got to hold her son for an hour before social services took her son Jamie Harbour into foster care. It was nine years later that she finally got see her son. 

A woman named Sneak had been Blair’s key to survival in prison she was Blair’s prison life tour guide. But Sneak was bad company. 

Blair finds out that Sneak had stolen from her, it’s just a fact that Sneak steals from everyone. 

Once Blair had served her time she was free to start her life again.  Months later Sneak appeared Blair’s life again she needs help finding her daughter Dayly. But Blair can’t risk being court helping Sneak, as Blair lives in fear of not being able to see her son again and saying goodbye to him for another five years. 

Blair was a good person once, she was happy and respected and now she  is trying to do something with her life. 

The strength of story is very full of action with what Blair and Sneak get up to, that it gripped me from the beginning right up to the last page.

For fans of Martina Cole, I highly recommend you Candice Fox. 

I would like to thank Isabelle at penguin random house for sending me a finished paperback of Gathering Dark by Candice Fox, to read and review. 


About author Candice Fox


Candice Fox is the middle child of a large, eccentric family from Sydney’s western suburbs. The daughter of a parole officer and an enthusiastic foster-carer. Candice spent most of her childhood listening around corners to takes of violence, madness and evil as her father relayed his work stories to her mother and older brothers.

Candice won back-to-back Ned Kelly awards for her first two novels Hades and Eden. She is also the author of the critically acclaimed Fall, Crimson Lake, Redemption and Gone by Midnight. Candice first collaboration with James Patterson, Never Never, was a Sunday Times and New York Times no. 1 bestseller. They have coauthored three novels featuring Harriet Blue – Fifty Fifty, Liar Liar and Hush Hush. 




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s