Watching You Lisa Jewell 

Publication date Thursday 12th July 2018

Publisher Century

Hardback

You’re not the only one watching.

You’re back home with a brand new husband in tow after four years working abroad.

You’re keen to find a place of your own. But for now you’re living with your big brother, camped out in his spare bedroom.

And then quite unexpectedly you meet the man next door.

He’s the head teacher of the local high school. He’s twice your age. And he’s very attractive.

Soon you find you’re watching him. All the time.

But what you don’t know is that someone is watching you.

Or that what started as an innocent crush is quickly turning into an obsession as dark as it is deadly.

 

WHAT TO LOOK FORWARD TO

Family secrets, illicit passion and an unexplained murder lies at the heart of Lisa Jewell’s gripping new novel.

Advertisements

No Further Questions Gillian McAllister blog tour 

 

The police say she’s guilty.

She insists she’s innocent.

She’s your sister.
You loved her.

You trusted her.

But they say she killed your child.

Who do you believe?

MY REVIEW 
Gillian McAllister is one heck of a brilliant crime writer, I have read all her books. No Further Questions, something twisting on every page to read. Two sisters totally different in every way. Martha has baby Layla cries all the time, yes I can relate to that my first daughter cried non stop. Becky has a son who was an angel. Becky becomes a nanny looking after her baby niece, Layla when ever Martha needed her to help. Then while baby Layla is in auntie Becky’s care baby Layla is found dead. A court room drama where they decide who killed Layla, how and why? A brilliant secret twist is here. Recommend to all crime lovers. 

Before We Were Yours Lisa Wingate Blog Tour

 Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.
Memphis, 1939. 

Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize the dark truth 

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. 

Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions—and compels her to take a journey through her family’s long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or redemption.

Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong. 

My thoughts 

If you have added Before We Were Yours, I recommend that you read this book first. Lisa Wingate nicely brings together the past and present day.

Avery Stafford is a very bright, intelligent young woman. She graduated top of the class from Columbia Law.

When an elderly woman named May takes a heirloom bracelet, Avery makes a visit to May. In May’s room, Avery notices a photograph and she is sure that she knows someone in the photo. 

Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate pieces together a lot of family history.

Stalker Lisa Stone


SOMEONE IS ALWAYS WATCHING
Derek Flint is a loner. He lives with his mother and spends his evenings watching his clients on the CCTV cameras he has installed inside their homes. He likes their companionship – even if it’s through a screen.

When a series of crimes hits Derek’s neighbourhood, DC Beth Mayes begins to suspect he’s involved. How does he know so much about the victims’ lives? Why won’t he let anyone into his office? And what is his mother hiding in that strange, lonely house?
As the crimes become more violent, Beth must race against the clock to find out who is behind the attacks. Will she uncover the truth in time? And is Derek more dangerous than even she has guessed?

 

My Review

It’s exactly right what it says on the back of this book. Once you start reading Stalker, you won’t be able to stop. Lisa Stone writes Cathy Glass with 27 non-fiction novels, which I have read many of her non-fiction. Now Cathy Glass writes crime thrillers under the name Lisa Stone. I missed the first of her books The Darkness Within. Stalker is Lisa Stone’s second crime thriller book that I recommend to you all. Stalker is about home owners having cameras fitted inside their house and outside, by Derek Flint, who is a loner with no friends. Derek Flint locks himself away in his bedroom, switches on his computer and watches his clients in their homes through the cameras that he has fitted in all his clients homes. I won’t tell you much more I don’t want to do a spoiler.

Killing It Asia Mackay


Every working mum has had to face it.

The guilt-fuelled, anxiety-filled first day back in the office after maternity leave.

But this working mum is one of a kind.

She’ll have it all. Or she’ll die trying.

And yes, she damm well will be home for bath time.

Mother. Assassin. Failure is NOT an option.

 

MY REVIEW

I thoroughly enjoyed reading Killing It, as much as what new author Asia Mackay enjoyed writing it.

I so much enjoyed all the fabulous page turning imaginary secret equipment. Although the secret gadgets were pure imaginary it was very realistic and entertaining.

I loved reading about the main character, Alexis Tyler is a mother to a baby and works for a secret service branch. She carries a gun hidden securely in a secret place in her baby’s pram. Ear piece she kept in a women’s procession. To add to Lex’s profile she’s not afraid of anyone and she is out to make her point she is as good as what a man is in her secret service, never afraid to use her gun.

Lex’s is on a mission, someone wants their husband dead.

I’m bouncing just literally overjoyed Alexis Tyler is coming back with her baby girl that is much older. Look out I will be buying it and reviewing it.

For anyone who wants to read Killing it, I do hope that you will absolutely love it as much as what I did.

Truth Sister Phil Gilvin Blog Tour 

KNOWLEDGE IS POWER. TO SURVIVE IN A HOSTILE WORLD, WOMEN MUST TAKE CONTROL OF THE KNOWLEDGE THAT REMAINS.

The year is 2149. The Women’s Republic of Anglia seeks to harness forgotten technologies from the time when men ruled the world. Naturals are second-class citizens, while women born through cloning are the true children of the Republic. When Clara Perdue graduates from the prestigious Academy, she is ready to do her part to support the Republic and bring about a better future for all.

But when she stumbles on information that the Republic has tried to keep hidden, she begins to realise that the society she has been taught to believe in and trained to defend is not all that it seems. A secret from Clara’s past puts herself, her family, and her friends in danger, and Clara must choose between subservience and rebellion.

In a world where knowledge is power, what you know can save your life. Or it can get you killed.

MY REVIEW
I loved the fact that Truth Sister is a work of fiction with real life added in.

In real life unfortunately we are hearing more about flooding. In Truth Sister, the school, houses, shops and offices have been flooded. Clara, Bella and Amy have the task of having to lean the dirty water and slimy mud.

This is another point that I really liked reading about and give full praise to the author for adding this true life medical problem in. Amy suffers from Asthma and gets out of breath helping her friends clean up all the muddy water. Her friends are very kind to her and let Amy rest. My mum suffers from Asthma so I know what is like to have this medical problem.

The fictional part I loved at the Academy where Clara, Bella and Amy attend. Clara so much  wanted to be a Truth Sister . To make It to be a Truth Sister they needed to swear the oath of allegiance. Truth Sisters are chosen for their intelligence, diligence and loyalty to the Republic and only Truth Sisters may hold senior posts. I loved that there are questions that must be answered correctly. Cloth badges will declare them a Truth Sister if answer correctly. Will Clara qualify? 

Highly recommend to adults and specially teenage girls.

The French Girl Lexie Elliott


She appears, lithe and tanned, by the swimming pool one afternoon.

Severine the girl next door. It was supposed to be a final celebration for six British graduates, the perfect French getaway, until she arrived. Severine’s beauty captivates each of them in turn. Under the heat of a summer sky, simmering tensions begin to boil over years of jealously and longing rising dangerously to the surface.

And then Severine disappears.

A decade later, Severine’s body is found at the farmhouse. For Kate Channing, the discovery brings up more than just unwelcome memories. As police suspicion amount against the friends, Kate becomes desperate to resolve her own shifting understanding of that time. But as the layers of deception does she really want to know what happened to the French Girl?

 

My Review

I couldn’t put this suspenseful book down.

Ten years ago six young teenagers went on holiday to France. Severine a young French girl used the swimming pool with the other six at the farmhouse. That really sounds nice a group of friends having a fun filled holiday in France.
But now ten years on when each member who went on holiday together have moved on with their lives. After a decade a French detective starts to question every one of the gang as the body of Severine has been found and the gang was the last to see Severine which become to a shock to them all being questioned by a French detective. I was eager to read on wondering if one of them killed Severine and which one and why.
One of the gang has died so that leaves just five people who the French detective can question. Although none of the five can remember much about their holiday in France, I liked how everyone then became suspicious of each other in thinking that one of them may have killed Severine .

I can very happily recommend The French Girl by Lexie Elliott  with secrets to find out along the way. I do hope that you all enjoy reading this suspenseful novel as much as I have.