The Secret of You and Me Melissa Lenhardt blog Tour

img_3136

The Secret of You and Me by Melissa Lenhardt

Paperback Published by Mills and Boon

Remembering Sophie as I’d last seen her eighteen years ago, eyes downcast, cheeks wet from crying, apologising over and over. I’m sorry. I’m sorry. I’m sorry.

Nora any Sophie were best friends until the day Nora left town abruptly. Rumours hinted a love triangle between Sophie. Nora and Nora’s then boyfriend, Charlie.

18 years later, the death of her father forces Nora to return home to face Sophie and her past. A lot has changed in her small home town, but memories are long, and true love never fades.

The question is, will Nora get a second chance at love?

MY REVIEW

I have loved reading every single page of The Secret of You and Me, with lots of surprises set within the story that I didn’t realise was going to happen, and with interesting characters that author Melissa Lenhardt had written about stayed with me long after I finished. A page turning vibrant story not to be missed.

What keep me turning the pages, is a secret love affair with complications, one that I don’t want do any spoilers about.

Sophie and Nora vowed to be friends for life, they had their future all mapped out together. I could relate to that in a certain way, most best friends vow to stay best friends forever.

18 years ago Nora left Lynchfield, without any explanation as to why, and joined the army. There were two reasons why Nora, had left her fathers house.

Once Nora left Lynchfield, Sophie Elizabeth Russell, and Charlie sent Nora letters, with pleas for forgiveness, but Nora never read any of them.

Eighteen years later Nora has returned back to Lynchfield for her Fathers funeral. Once she has sorted out his house she will leave Lynchfield.

Sooner or later Nora will have to face everyone she left behind including Sophie and Charlie.

Before Nora returns to back to where she moved too and set a new life for herself in DC , it will now depend on what need to be done, then she can return back to her new home. Also there’s someone special that Nora needs to see.

An unexpected surprise is waiting for Nora to discover that Sophie, Nora’s best friend has married, Charlie, who was Nora’s boyfriend and Sophie has a daughter Logan, with Charlie. Nora’s can’t help but wonder what her life might have been like if she was the that had married Charlie.

Eighteen years is a long time since you have seen your best friend and your first love and lot changes in eighteen years, but can you pick up from a relationship 18 years on?

What’s to enjoy is so many secrets unfolding, and an relationship that sets the question if it can be reunited after 18 years.

I’ve really enjoyed my time reading The Secret of You and Me by Melissa Lenhardt and hope you all will do too.

My favourite line in the story was: I resent you. I miss you. I hate you. I love you. What could these. Words have meant? And to whom?

I would like to say a very big thank you to Mills and Boon for sending me an early proof paperback and for inviting me to be

 

ABOUT MELISSA LENHARDT

 

Melissa Lenhardt is a women’s fiction, mystery, and historical fiction author. The New York Times called her sixth novel, HERESY, An all-out women-driven, queer, transgender, multiracial takeover of the Old West. When Melissa isn’t writing, she’s thinking. I really should be writing and eating Nutella or peanut butter straight out of the jar. A lifelong Texan, she lives in the Dallas area with her husband, and two sons, and two golden Retrievers, Hazel and Lucy who, let’s be honest, rule the roost. 

http://www.melissalenhardt.com and Twitter@MelLenhardt

My Twitter @bookread2day

My Twitter #bookread2day

 

 

Leave a comment